Welcome to Healthy Dudley. This is the new public health website.

The Eatwell Guide

Eatwell plates

Click the picture for download.

The Eatwell Guide divides the foods we eat into 5 main food groups. It shows the different types of foods we should eat to have a healthy balanced diet, and what proportions we should eat them in. You don’t need to achieve this balance at every meal but you should try to get this balance over a day or a week. Aim for a variety of different foods from each of the 5 groups to help you get the wide range of nutrients your body needs.

The 5 food groups are:

  1. Fruit and Vegetables
  2. Potatoes, bread, rice, pasta or other starchy carbohydrates
  3. Dairy or dairy alternatives
  4. Beans, pulse, eggs, fish, meat and other protein sources
  5. Oils and spreads

Foods high in fat, sugar and salt

Foods that are high in fat, sugar and salt have been positioned outside the main circular image as they’re not needed in our diet and so should be eaten less often and in smaller amounts. These foods include sweets, cakes, biscuits, chocolate, ice cream, sugary drinks, butter, ghee and condiments e.g. tomato sauce and salad dressings.

For further information about the Eatwell Guide and how it can help you choose healthier food and drink options, visit The Eatwell Guide.